

April 25, 2022

The Honorable Jared Polis Governor of Colorado State Capitol Building 200 East Colfax Avenue Denver, Colorado 80203

Dear Governor Jared Polis,

We, the undersigned, write to thank you and the Colorado Oil & Gas Conservation Commission (COGCC) for adopting new financial assurance rules in order to protect public health, safety, welfare, the environment, and wildlife resources from oil and gas development.

Historically, Colorado's financial assurance program has been woefully underfunded, resulting in a severe shortfall in bonds leading to over 800 orphaned wells statewide in need of plugging and cleanup. Abandoned and orphaned oil and gas wells threaten public health, damaging our climate, clean air, lands, waters, wildlife and outdoor recreation.

In 2019, the Colorado Legislature passed Senate Bill 181 that changed the mission of Colorado's oil and gas regulators to prioritize protecting public health and safety. Part of this law required new financial assurances from operators to ensure oil and gas wells are plugged, the areas reclaimed, and that developments are not orphaned, leaving the cleanup costs to taxpayers. Colorado's new rules, last updated decades ago, require well owners to submit an "operator-specific financial assurance plan" to the COGCC. These new rules significantly increase financial assurance amounts, depending on the size of the operation.

We appreciate the COGCC's work to find the right balance reflecting a practical regulatory framework for Colorado's gas and oil industry that better protects Colorado taxpayers and the environment.

We applaud this new rule that helps fulfill the new COGCC mission, and we urge the United States Department of the Interior to also develop new rules that effectively manage oil and gas developments to protect our federal public lands, air and water.

Thank you again for your leadership and commitment to Colorado's future.

Sincerely,

Eva Henry Michael Lavey

Adams County Commissioner Mayor, City of Cortez

Emma Pinter Chris Hinds

Adams County Commissioner Denver City Councilor

Nancy Jackson Amanda Sawyer

Arapahoe County Commissioner Denver City Councilor

Juan Marcano Sheila Wheeler

Aurora City Councilor Dolores Town Trustee

Glenn Drummond Jeanne McQueeney

Basalt Town Councilor Eagle County Commissioner

Elise Jones Matt Scherr

Former Boulder County Commissioner Eagle County Commissioner

Guyleen Castriotta Jessica Burley

Mayor, City of Broomfield Mayor Pro Tem, Town of Frisco

Heidi Henkel Jonathan Godes

Broomfield City Councilor Mayor, City of Glenwood Springs

Bruce Leslie Shelley Kaup

Broomfield City Councilor Glenwood Springs City Councilor

Jean Lim Paula Stepp

Broomfield City Councilor Glenwood Springs City Councilor

Austin Ward JJ Trout

Broomfield City Councilor Mayor Pro Tem, City of Golden

Keith Baker Jonathan Houck

Chaffee County Commissioner Gunnison County Commissioner

Liz Smith Janice Bryan

Gunnison County Commissioner Mancos Town Trustee

Andy Kerr Alan Apt

Jefferson County Commissioner Former Nederland Town Trustee

Gwen Lachelt John Clark

Former La Plata County Commissioner Mayor, Town of Ridgway

Tim Barnes Tim Corrigan

Lafayette City Councilor Routt County Commissioner

JD Mangat Thomas McCracken

Mayor, City of Lafayette Saguache County Commissioner

John Kefalas Dan Shore

Larimer County Commissioner Mayor, City of Salida

Kristin Stephens Hilary Cooper

Larimer County Commissioner San Miguel County Commissioner

Ashley Stolzmann Lance Waring

Mayor, City of Louisville San Miguel County Commissioner

Wendy Miller Art Goodtimes

Lyons Town Trustee Former San Miguel County Commissioner

Kim Langmaid

Mayor, Town of Vail