

The Honorable Debra Haaland Secretary, Department of the Interior 1849 C Street, N.W. Washington DC 20240

Tracy Stone-Manning
Director, Bureau of Land Management
760 Horizon Drive
Grand Junction, CO 81506

Dec. 1, 2021

Dear Secretary Haaland and Director Stone-Manning,

We are writing in support of a recently submitted petition requesting a rulemaking effort concerning hardrock mining. Western Leaders Network is a nonpartisan nonprofit of more than 450 tribal and local elected officials across the Interior West. As local and tribal officials, we live in and represent communities that have endured a legacy of hardrock mining and the pollution and financial burdens that come with it. The 1872 Mining Law, which has not been meaningfully updated in its 149 years of existence, is an archaic remnant of our country's settler-colonial founding and should be reformed immediately. However, redoing the rules that govern hardrock mining on federal lands is an important first step that will have tangible benefits for Indigenous and local western communities affected by mining.

This petition, brought forth by mining-affected communities and allied environmental organizations, asks the Bureau of Land Management to rewrite 43 C.F.R. §§ 3800 *et seq*, which implements the 1872 Mining Law. Specifically, the petition asks the BLM to clarify their responsibility to deny mine proposals that may cause unnecessary or undue degradation to treaty rights and other rights to fish, hunt, gather or otherwise use public land under the Federal Lands Management Policy Act (FLPMA). This adjustment will allow land managers to refuse mining on lands already being used or are relied upon by communities; currently land managers are unable to deny mines on the lands they steward.

Mining-affected communities and their local leaders have been working to reform the 1872 Mining Law for well over a century. Enacted one year after the U.S. government ceased making treaties with Indigenous peoples, the law was designed to encourage colonization and settlement of the western U.S. In addition to prioritizing mining over all other uses of federal lands, the 1872 Mining Law requires no royalties or reclamation fees, no bonding requirements, and no cleanup. That means tribes and communities like ours are on the hook - instead of the companies responsible - to reclaim polluting mines and handle the economic fallout.

Hardrock mining pollution is a regrettable part of western history that continues to burden communities today, from the <u>Bingham Canyon Mine in Utah</u>, to <u>Butte</u>, <u>Montana's Berkeley Pit</u> and the infamous <u>2015 Gold King Mine spill</u> in Colorado, which made national headlines. Still, Congress has not reformed this outdated law, which allows the mining industry to operate unchecked and cause damage to our lands and watersheds, cultural sites and local economies.

Without accountability and regulation for the mining industry, the responsibility falls on our communities to foot the bill for cleanup and reclamation.

Reforming the 1872 Mining Law should be a priority for every member of Congress, but until it can be updated, the Biden administration should step up and reform BLM's hardrock mining rules. Mining in this country operates in a deeply inequitable manner, and redoing these rules is the first of many steps in creating a more just future for our local and tribal communities that deal every day with the impacts of mine pollution.

We look forward to working with you and your staff to modernize these rules in the short-term and to reform the mining law in the future.

Sincerely,

Arizona

Adam Shimoni Flagstaff City Councilor

Damon Clarke

Hualapai Tribal Council Chairman

Shelton Scott Crozier

Hualapai Tribal Council Vice Chairman

Philbert Bailey

San Xavier District Councilor Tohono O'odham Nation

Austin Nunez

San Xavier District Council Chairman

Tohono O'odham Nation

Phyllis Valenzuela

San Xavier District Councilor Tohono O'odham Nation **Colorado** Shelley Kaup

Eva Henry Glenwood Springs City Councilor

Adams County Commissioner Marsha Porter-Norton

Emma Pinter La Plata County Commissioner

Adams County Commissioner Kristin Stephens

Rachael Richards Larimer County Commissioner

Aspen City Councilor

Polly Christensen

Thomas McCracken

Juan Marcano Longmont City Councilor

Aurora City Councilor

Janice Bryan

Matt Jones Mancos Town Trustee

Boulder County Commissioner

Patrick Berry

Mark in William To a County

Sam Weaver
Boulder Mayor

Mountain Village Town Councilor

George Marlin

Kristopher Larsen
Nederland Mayor

Clear Creek County Commissioner
Steve Child

Randy Wheelock Pitkin County Commissioner

Clear Creek County Commissioner

Greg Poschman

Rachel Medina Pitkin County Commissioner

Cortez Mayor Pro Tem

John Clark
Ridgway Mayor

Durango City Councilor Tim Corrigan

Routt County Commissioner

Sheila Wheeler

Dolores Town Trustee

Dave Munk Saguache County Commissioner

Holy Cross Energy Board of Directors

Chairman Hilary Cooper

Jonathan Godes San Miguel County Commissioner

Glenwood Springs Mayor

Kris Holstrom

San Miguel County Commissioner

Lance Waring

San Miguel County Commissioner

Elisabeth Lawrence

Summit County Commissioner

Todd Brown

Telluride Mayor Pro Tem

Kim Langmaid

Vail Mayor Pro Tem

Idaho

Ladd Edmo

Fort Hall Business Councilor Shoshone Bannock Tribes

Shelby Rognstad

Sandpoint Mayor

Cindy Riegel

Teton County Commissioner

Montana

Juanita Vero

Missoula County Commissioner

Nevada

Daniel Corona

West Wendover Mayor

New Mexico

Andrea Romero

State House Representative, District 46

Rosalyn Fry

Aztec City Commissioner

Mark Lewis

Aztec City Commissioner

Victor Snover Aztec Mayor

Alicia Edwards

Grant County Commissioner

Gill Sorg

Las Cruces City Councilor

Daniel Tso

Navajo Nation Council Delegate, Chairman of Health, Education and Human Services

Chili Yazzie

Shiprock Chapter President

Navajo Nation

Max Trujillo

San Miguel County Commissioner

Anna Hansen

Santa Fe County Commissioner

JoAnne Vigil Coppler

Santa Fe City Councilor

AnJanette Brush

Taos County Commissioner

Utah

Jacques Hadler

Grand County Commissioner

Sarah Stock

Grand County Commissioner

Rani Derasary

Moab City Councilor

Kalen Jones

Moab City Councilor

Glenn Wright
Summit County Council Chairman

Wyoming

Pete Gosar Albany County Commissioner

Joyce Evans Fort Laramie Mayor